Crossroads by Steven Nedelton

Here are some of the reviews Steven Nedelton received for his spy thriller, Crossroads:

MIDWEST BOOK REVIEW 5.0 out of 5 stars for Crossroads spy thriller
A fascinating and entertaining story of cold war espionage, highly recommended, December 11, 2009
By Midwest Book Review (Oregon, WI USA) –

Double crossing, triple crossing, quadruple crossings are not things that were unheard of in the espionage time of the Cold War. “Crossroads” is a story of cold war espionage as Tallman distrusts the newest defector to the agency, former soviet spy Mikhail. When new technology is on the line, it becomes harder and harder to know who to really trust. “Crossroads” is a fascinating and entertaining story of cold war espionage, highly recommended.

***

“An exciting new book is out, Crossroads by Steven Nedelton. I recommend it highly, in fact I bought it. It is a mind bending thriller that deals with espionage, murder, revenge and mayhem. If you have ever ridden on a roller coaster, you had better keep your hands in the car with this one. This will keep you on the edge of your seat but at times there is NO edge. Mind control takes over leaving you grasping and gasping at this Ian Holm style story. It is, however, much more than that. You won’t put this book down unless you need a brain break. Try it; it’s worth the ride! At SNEDELTON.com.”
Joseph Parente, author/actor, Jan. 28, 2010

*** 

“Reminiscent of John Le Carre with a dash of Ian Flemming, Steven Nedelton’s Crossroads plunges us deep into the complicated and not yet thawed Cold War mind-power experimentations and its dubious dark characters that once inhabited that volatile underworld. Written with an uncanny knack for plot and time-shifting, this 21st century thriller also introduces us to 20 th century CIA Agent David Tallman, the main character who possesses depth, passion and, in the grand tradition of Hemingway at his best, more than his fair share of tragedy and wickedness. An unusually multi-layered and absorbing novel, Crossroads will be and should be read by thriller and spy novel enthusiasts all over the globe.”
–Vincent Zandri, author of ‘As Catch Can’ and ‘Moonlight Falls.’

***

5.0 out of 5 stars Fast-Paced, Tight Prose, December 22, 2009
By J. L. Knox “JLK” (San Antonio, TX USA) :

OK. This is not the genre of choice for me, but I’ve come to know Steven Nedelton and I had to admit, his book (CROSSROADS) sounded interesting, so why limit myself, I thought. So here’s my take: This is a plot-driven, fast-paced, spy thriller that seems to incorporate a lot of research and keen literary skill. I’m very glad I picked up this book, and thanks to Nedelton, I’m in the market for an occasional thriller. To recommend this book, I have to resort to a reviewer’s cliché: I couldn’t put it down.
Jen Knox, Author of MUSICAL CHAIRS,
Fiction Editor at OUR STORIES Literary Journal

***

“A techno-thriller in the tradition of Tom Clancy, Crossroads combines the best of Cold War era cat-and-mouse espionage with a healthy dose of conspiracy topped off with a bit of mind control. Steven Nedelton displays a masterful sense of suspense as he winds his way through the intricacies of back room political machinations. With a keen eye for detail, Nedelton leads us down the dark road of international intrigue, assassination and real world politics. Crossroads is a first-rate thrill ride that will keep you tearing through the pages to reach the dramatic conclusion.”
–Sean Harris, author ‘Dead of Winter’

***

“Crossroads is an international spy thriller with an intriguing plot that twists and turns thus engaging the interest of the reader till the final page. It contains an array of interesting characters ranging from the bottom of the food chain like Mme Benoit, an ex-cop turned killer for hire Hans Polf to the top Russian Special Operations boss Sergey Sokolov. In this spy game no one is spared, no one is indispensable. It’s how each character meets his/her end that makes the plot suspenseful and satisfying as a spy thriller. The plot flirts back and forth, from the United States, to Russia and to France giving it an international flair.

Steven Nedelton has a flair for details – a good example is how the fallen Volkov stalked Solkolov to have his revenge. Time and time again, Nedelton painstakingly builds up a scene before the violence erupted, giving the plot suspense and visual detail. He has a keen eye for details.
A good read for a lazy day at home.”
–Mei L, a reviewer

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: